|
Rank: Member
Groups: Registered
Joined: 4/15/2013 Posts: 34
|
I have the Java version of the DictManager, which is a jar file plus a bat file to run it (start /min c:\Windows\system32\javaw.exe -Xms32M -Xmx256M -jar DictManager.jar). The tool uses "My Documents" as the default working directory, both for opening the Dict file to edit and for text/dict files to merge. That's not where we store the dictionary, so is there a way to change that default? I tried changing the HOMEPATH environment variable, but Dict Manager still wants to start in "My Documents".
My second question is whether it is possible to have a comment line in the text file that is merged into the dictionary? I'd like to send an empty file with a sort of prompt to my users, e.g., add-words.txt: # Enter a list of words here to merge into the dictionary, one word per line.
That's not a big deal since we do have release notes, but every little bit helps when dealing with end users!
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Administrators, Registered
Joined: 8/13/2004 Posts: 2,669 Location: Canada
|
Hi, We use this constructor public JFileChooser() Constructs a JFileChooser pointing to the user's default directory. This default depends on the operating system. It is typically the "My Documents" folder on Windows, and the user's home directory on Unix. So I'm not entirely sure if that's changeable from an environment variable or not. If it isn't then we could make a new build that allows you to set an env var, like DICTMANDEFAULTDIR or something. You can include a comment line, it won't be ignored, but it won't actually make any difference to the spell checker either (it'll be in the dictionary as one big word). Best Jim -your feedback is helpful to other users, thank you!-your feedback is helpful to other users, thank you!
|
|
Rank: Member
Groups: Registered
Joined: 4/15/2013 Posts: 34
|
Well, I thought setting the system property user.home (via -Duser.home=some-dir) should work for the JFileChooser, but it doesn't seem to work for me. Either an environment variable or a system property to customize the start directory would be great. Also, while you're in there, you could make the frame just a touch taller. Right now, it's clipping off half of the "Ready" status and progress bar, at least in my environment.
Thanks!
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Administrators, Registered
Joined: 8/13/2004 Posts: 2,669 Location: Canada
|
Here you go, just can call set DICTMANDEFAULTDIR=c:\somedir in the batch/cmd and it'll use that as default. https://www.dropbox.com/...izni3h3/DictManager.jar
Best Jim -your feedback is helpful to other users, thank you!-your feedback is helpful to other users, thank you!
|
|
Rank: Member
Groups: Registered
Joined: 4/15/2013 Posts: 34
|
Hi Jim,
I must have been too slow. That link isn't working for me. Can you repost it?
Thanks, Greg
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Administrators, Registered
Joined: 8/13/2004 Posts: 2,669 Location: Canada
|
It does still work for me, otherwise http://keyoti.com/Upload...dFolder/DictManager.jar
Jim -your feedback is helpful to other users, thank you!-your feedback is helpful to other users, thank you!
|
|
Rank: Member
Groups: Registered
Joined: 4/15/2013 Posts: 34
|
Hi Jim,
Thanks, I've got it now. It seems our building network blocks Dropbox, so that was the issue.
|
|