|
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Registered
Joined: 9/1/2010 Posts: 136
|
In handling word variations in the GetWordVariations action, is there a way to handle a variation that consists of multiple words? For example, in our data, the word "hymnbook" is sometimes spelled with one word and sometimes with two. Is there a way to define "hymn book" as a variation of "hymnbook" and vice versa?
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Administrators, Registered
Joined: 8/13/2004 Posts: 2,669 Location: Canada
|
Besides this http://keyoti.com/produc...ming%20And%20Lemmas.htm that you probably already know about, which can be used with single words you can work with the QueryExpression directly, in codebehind for the search result page, you can access SearchResult1.QueryExpression and look for any words you want to modify. So for example you can take "hymnbook" and change it to "(hymnbook OR (hymn book))" - that is safe to do provided hymnbook is not in a phrase (ie inside quotes). Jim -your feedback is helpful to other users, thank you!-your feedback is helpful to other users, thank you!
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Registered
Joined: 9/1/2010 Posts: 136
|
Thanks! I'll check into the QueryExpression way of handling it.
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Registered
Joined: 9/1/2010 Posts: 136
|
The QueryExpression property of my SearchResult object is null, before and after calling SearchAgent.Search. I am entering "hymnbook" as the search text. My search word shows up in SearchAgent.QueryString after calling SearchAgent.Search but not before. Is QueryExpression the property I should be modifying for multiple words?
BTW, the tooltip for the properties HighlightQueryWordsInSummary and HighlightQueryWordsInSummaryHTML contains "qords" that I think should be "words".
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Administrators, Registered
Joined: 8/13/2004 Posts: 2,669 Location: Canada
|
Thanks for the 'qords' headsup. Are you using SearchAgent directly? If so, the query expression is one of the arguments to the SearchAgent.Search method, which you can modify in the same was as I described. -your feedback is helpful to other users, thank you!-your feedback is helpful to other users, thank you!
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Registered
Joined: 9/1/2010 Posts: 136
|
Yes, I'm using the SearchAgent directly, and I missed the fact that the first argument is the query expression. I'll work with it there. Thanks!
|
|